Tony Stubblebine
1 min readOct 6, 2022

I'm pretty available and so you don't have to go reading into vague behavioral signaling. You can just ask me and get a direct answer.

I did three interviews and picked them for a reason. It was to prep the people they reach for a change in how distribution works.

We've swung between two extremes. One was fully curated by humans (2018-ish) and now is mostly curated by machine learning algorithms that focus on engagement signals. This current version has been bad in a lot of ways.

We have been making changes to bring humans back into the mix, especially giving direct control back to the readers.

A lot of these changes are going to affect the people those interviewers reach and so I wanted to prepare them.

It sounds, and maybe I'm reading too much into this, that you think giving those interviews was elevating them. But I was agnostic on that. The substance was about preparing them that they'd have to raise their game or they would fail.