Start of my ridge trail

In the vein of The Spirited Man: my pointless, hand built mountain bike trail. I love it.

Tony Stubblebine
3 min readApr 16, 2021

--

We bought some land upstate. It has a house on it and even a pool. But those are there to justify what I really want which is to ride my mountain bike out of my garage and onto some trails that I built myself.

What makes this project “pointless” in the practical sense is that there are miles of trails that other people built and maintain just a few minutes down the road. So already, without any additional work, I could ride my mountain bike out of the garage, turn right down the street, and hit these trails in a matter of minutes.

But those are other people’s trails. For no reason more than “feeling moved to do so,” I want to build my own trails.

This house and land we bought is a bit of a fixer upper. I’m there right now and the house is gutted, no hot water, no kitchen. I’m staying in an RV parked in the driveway.

That construction has been going on for a few months and so what I’ve been doing is coming up for a few days at a time to start on my mountain bike trails.

The first pass was with a handsaw and garden clippers. Basically I just trimmed branches and little sprouts of trees back and then tested out a short loop around the house. That loop takes about two minutes to ride. We’re in…

--

--